Tags

, ,

This one has been on my to read list since right after it came out. I ended up borrowing the Kindle version through our library rather than buying it, because I wanted to read it before watching the movie.

The Martian, by Andy Weir, begins with the main character, an astronaut, becoming stranded on Mars after his team thinks he has been killed in a storm. The rest of the book bounces between the logs he writes while trying to survive, and the attempts of people on Earth to come up with a plan to rescue him. I don’t want to give too much away, though.

I really enjoyed this book. The science behind what the characters did was well explained, and I’ve been told it’s pretty accurate. My background is critter science rather than space, so I have to go by what I’m told in that respect. The characters are well developed, and the logs of the main character frequently made me laugh out loud. I’ll probably end up buying this book at some point. When we are done buying baby things perhaps…

