Tags

, ,

Book eight is one that I’ve had sitting on my to-read shelf for a long time. I finally ended up borrowing it from our local library on cd, since that was the most likely way that I would finish it before the pages on my copy deteriorated.

The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger, follows the intertwined lives of Claire, an artist and Henry, a man who travels through time randomly and without control. Claire first meets Henry when she is six, and Henry first meets Claire when he is 28. The story jumps around in time, following both of their separate lives and their time together. The cd version is read by two actors, and other than a few mispronounced words, is a good one.

This story was beautiful, strange, and heartbreaking. I really liked it, much better than the other book of her’s that I read last year. The author does get… verbose… at points, which became a bit annoying the further I got into the novel. For example, when listing bands that fit into a particular category, her point could have easily been made with four or five or even six band names; 20 was really overdoing it. Despite that, I enjoyed the book, though I probably won’t read it again.

