Tags

, , , , , ,

IMAG0742It started with a dream. DSC_0070Well, maybe not a dream, but an episode of sleeptalking.

Mr. Gecko talks in his sleep. Usually, what he says sounds like normal conversation at first, and then it gets weird or funny or both.

One night recently, I heard perhaps the most disturbing sleep talking yet…20150307_130044“Yarn”

I was not completely awake, so I was sure I had misheard. Then he said “No, she has enough.” and I knew I had heard him correctly.

When we moved, I had gone through my yarn stash and found homes for enough yarn to fill a 20 quart storage tub to overflowing. Most of that yarn was either left over from various projects or was purchased for a project that I never started, and almost all of it was acrylic. We still moved up here with three large boxes of yarn, which I had every intention of using someday.

After that little nighttime eavesdropping, though, I decided that it was time to do some more decluttering. There may have also been some harassment from Mr. Gecko involved, since I have been acquiring more yarn than I am using lately. The pictures so far are just some of the yarn I have picked up.

I have been going through it in stages. Slow, painful stages, since most of the yarn I have is soft/beautiful/luscious. I did come up with a pile of yarn to rehome, though. IMAG0896I was pretty proud of myself, and then I found this post on CraftStylish as I was getting ready to write this post. I also heard SABLE for the first time. SABLE stands for Stash Acquisition Beyond Life Expectancy. I’m not at that point yet, but if I don’t stay on top of it, I will be.

Now I feel goaded inspired to go through the yarn again and see what I can realistically use…

