Tags

, , ,

DSC_0017While it was just my mama here, we went up into Yellowstone for a couple of days.DSC_0049Of course, we went to Old Faithful, and waited for it to erupt.DSC_0090After the crowds at Old Faithful, we went down Firehole Lake Drive. It’s a pretty drive past many thermal features, but not many people take it, so we had easy views the whole way. This is Firehole Spring.DSC_0078Firehole Spring with White Dome Geyser erupting in the background. Great Fountain Geyser, along the drive, only erupts every eight hours or so, so we weren’t there for that, but we did get to see White Dome.DSC_0132After that drive, we went to Midway Geyser Basin, where we found parking almost right away. This is runoff from Excelsior Geyser Crater.DSC_0139We walked the loop past Excelsior Geyser Crater, and my mama loved the colors. Then we got to Grand Prismatic Spring.DSC_0175Even though it tends to be very crowded, I love all the colors on this walk, and I could sit there all day. DSC_0191We did sit there for quite a while, then headed home for the evening. DSC_0233The next day, she and I and Mr. Gecko drove through Hayden Valley to the Canyon area of Yellowstone. One of the first things we saw was a grizzly. Mr. Gecko took this picture. He and my mom got out to take pictures while I navigated the car through the bear jam. I had intended to pull over and look for myself, but they were finished taking pictures before I cleared the traffic, so we kept going.DSC_0270We saw quite a few bison along the drive.DSC_0275Not as many as that one memorable trip, but still an impressive number.DSC_0264We also stopped at Mud Volcano and Sulphur Cauldron. I tried to take video of Dragon’s Mouth Spring with my new camera. The video worked, but I recorded it sideways and haven’t figured out how to rotate it yet… Oh well.DSC_0292Of course we drove both sides of the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone, and managed to find parking at all of our stops. It was a pair of beautiful days. I have a separate post of just the flowers that we saw, but that will wait for another day.

