Tags

, , ,

I’ve fallen behind on my posts again…

Taggart Lake TrailI have been meaning to post this one for a while, but I just haven’t had the time. In the middle of June, I took a hike up to Taggart Lake in Grand Teton National Park. It was a beautiful day for a short hike.DSC_0351The trail starts out in sagebrush, then climbs a glacial moraine. DSC_0365Taggart Creek is crossed several times on the the way up. That day, it was flowing bank-full from rain and snowmelt.DSC_0362DSC_0396When I reached the top of the moraine, the trail opened into a meadow of snowbrush ceanothus, a shrub that tends to grow in burned areas and smells delicious. Taggart Lake TrailDSC_0409After the meadow, the trail drops a but through lodgepole pines and another open meadow, this one of grass.DSC_0404Taggart Lake is fed by this waterfall, which is fed by a lake higher up, which is fed by snowmelt and a glacier.DSC_0400After about a mile and a half, I reached the lake, which is crystal clear and cold that time of year.DSC_0413On my way back down, the haze had burned off, and I looked back to find a spectacular view. DSC_0429

