Tags

, , ,

Book six was a random pick for me. I’ve had it on my Kindle for a while, but I haven’t really tried to read it. For some reason, I clicked on it one night and started to read.

Warm Bodies, by Isaac Marion, is told from the point of view of a zombie. R doesn’t know how long he’s been a zombie, doesn’t remember anything from his life before, and doesn’t even know his own name. Unlike his fellow zombies, though, he collects “souvenirs” from peoples’ lives before the fall of civilization. He also has the best speaking ability, such as it is, among his zombies companions. One hunting trip, he meets and saves Julie, a live woman, and this single choice starts a cascade of dramatic life changes for R.

This one was a really quick read for me. I started it one night, and finished it the next morning. The writing was on the odd side, and a little gruesome at times, but I found the point of view interesting. I also enjoyed the development in the point of view as R’s vocabulary and thought process grew and changed. If you are into zombies, and haven’t read it yet, it’s worth a read.

