Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

DSC_0050I love our National Parks.

My first National Park? My sister and I in Sitka, AK.

My first National Park? My sister and I in Sitka, AK.

I have enjoyed every visit (at least those that I can remember). I haven’t been to anywhere close to the 407 units in the National Park System, but I’ve been to more than I thought when I first set out to write this post.

Point Reyes National Seashore

Point Reyes National Seashore

Rainbow Bridge National Monument

Rainbow Bridge National Monument

I also learned new things about the National Park system. I knew that it included parks, monuments, seashores, parkways, and battlefields; I didn’t know that it also included preserves, historic sites, rivers, lakeshores, and many other special places.

Mesa Verde National Park

Mesa Verde National Park

Until I married Mr. Gecko, I had no idea of how much is done by the National Park Service or how many different types of places for which they are responsible.

Alligator in Everglades National Park

Alligator in Everglades National Park

All of this is to lead up to an announcement that was made last weekend. The National Park Service is celebrating its centennial next year.

Grand Canyon National Park

Grand Canyon National Park

Its 100th birthday is August 25, 2016. Hooray!

Zion National Park

Zion National Park

As part of the coming celebration, the Park Service has launched a new interactive website. On the website, Find Your Park, you can find a park close to you, share stories about your favorite park, and learn about ways to donate or volunteer at national park units around the country.

Yosemite National Park

Yosemite National Park

Whether you’ve never visited a national park or have planned your summer vacation around the parks for years, the Find Your Park website is worth a visit. Once you’ve done that, get out there and get in your National Parks! What are you waiting for?DSC_0301

