Tags

, , , , ,

DSC_0002

Mt. Moran the day after our first “real winter storm”, which is what the National Weather Service called it.

Reading back over my post from last year at New Year’s, I realized that I’ve actually kept most of my resolutions.

Sugar jumping up a snow bank. One of her favorite activities.

Sugar jumping up a snow bank. One of her favorite activities.

Mr. Gecko and I did more training with Sugar. She’s still a beast, but she also walks much better on leash. She’s much more socialized than she was, and is better meeting new people. She also occasionally sleeps on the bed.

Ok, that last bit was NOT part of her training- it was a diabolical plot by Mr. Gecko. I was against it at first, but on nights when he’s working late, she gets to sleep on his side of the bed until he gets home.

Smauglise (not her real name), recipient of Baby Blanket #3.

Smauglise (not her real name), recipient of Baby Blanket #3.

Other than starting an Etsy, my crochet goals for last year were pretty much met. I didn’t work all the way through my stash (the horror!), but I did use quite a bit of yarn from it. I finished all of my baby blankets, and some other WIPs, and even made some thins off Pinterest and Ravelry. I also learned to knit, which was not one of my goals.

IMAG0723

This is the sign into our housing area. Much like my book resolution, it’s been buried under snow (other stuff).

I didn’t get back to a regular yoga practice. Maybe this year. But I did start exercising more, which has been great.

I failed, once again, at keeping my book-reading resolution. By a fair amount of books. Since I didn’t reach my goal two years in a row, I’m not going to set a numerical goal for this year. I’ll still post reviews, and I’m not going to give up reading, but I’m also not going to push myself to read a new book if I’m in the mood for an old friend instead. I’ve been in a purging mood since we moved, since this house is smaller than our last one, so I’m going to go through my books and purge many of them. I’ve found myself not getting a book that I’m really interested in because I feel like I have so many at home that I haven’t read. Our library here is fantastic, so I’m going to start counting more on library books rather than keeping bookcases of unread ones at home. We’ll see how that goes.

I’ve rearranged the pages at the top of the blog. All of the Book Lists are now on the same page, and I’ve added a Project List to help me keep track of what I’m working on and what I’ve finished. It’s still a work in progress, and it’ll probably take me a couple of weeks (and trips to town) to get it looking the way that I want it to look.  After putting the crochet list together, I realized that I haven’t done as many posts on projects as I had intended. Since living up here seems to have really sparked my creativity- I’ve got scraps of notes and sketches all over with ideas for yarn things- perhaps posting more crochet projects will be my resolution this year…

This is a backhoe. Out the kitchen window. We clear the walkway to our door, but the park shovels our roof. When they do, they also clear the snow that they dump on the walk. Snow removal here is pretty serious.

This is a backhoe. Out the kitchen window. We clear the walkway to our door, but the park shovels our roof. When they do, they also clear the snow that they dump on the walk. Snow removal here is pretty serious.

