Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Mt Moran from Teton Park Road

Mt Moran from Teton Park Road

This year has been a wild one. Moving, crafting, learning new skills, creating new habits, and making some wonderful friends.Shoshone PointWe moved from the desert to the mountains, leaving Arizona on a windy, 86 degree F day and driving to our new home in Wyoming through the snow. MoeIn March, we fostered a fantastic, loving giant of a cat that we still miss. He found a great home a few weeks after we moved. DSC_0192My mama came to visit before we moved, and I had fun showing her around. I also finished the first of three baby blankets.Alex Blanket 2Our first few months in the Tetons were filled with discovery and wonder. DSC_0291Grand TetonDSC_0122DSC_0238Summer was filled with guests and trips to Yellowstone.DSC_0446DSC_0301DSC_0338Mr. Gecko’s parents came to visit, and we had a long, amazing day in Yellowstone, capped by a large herd of bison that we watched for at least an hour.DSC_0005DSC_0669Among the visitors to our house was this little guy who dropped in for a swim.IMAG0502I finished baby blankets two and three, and was really pleased with both.Tardis crochet blanketDSC_0040 Mr. Gecko and I went to California and Tennessee, before settling in for the winter. In between, I had my 100th blog post.DSC_0328We have better internet at the house now (I’m using it now), but it took a long time to decide what we wanted. For most posts, I’ll be going into town, especially if I have lots of pictures to upload. Almost all of these pictures are from earlier posts. I have found that having to drive an hour into town to use internet makes me more likely to post. It is somewhat like having a deadline, and I’m more likely to write them at home and have several ready when I head into town. Which has been great, except for the weeks when I’ve forgotten to bring my laptop…DSC_0053The critters have adjusted really well to the changes that this past year has brought. Sugar loves the snow, and Cricket is much happier in this house. Her little kingdom- food, water, cat tree, snuggle cube, windowsill- is in the living room, much closer to us than in the house in Arizona, and she comes every day for (brief) snuggles. DSC_0037Christmas Eve and day brought more snow to our house, and this past week has brought frigid temperatures. This is the thermometer on my car at 11:42 in the morning. We didn’t see positive numbers that day, and that night it got down to -27. DSC_00322014 was crazy, and stressful, and uncertain, but it was also filled with wonder. I miss the friends and family that we were so close to in Arizona, but I love that we have made so many new friends here, and that we live in a small community where people do nice things for each other all the time. Though there were parts of the year that were tough and frustrating, I wouldn’t have traded a single moment of it. I feel blessed every day here. DSC_0076

 

