Tags

, , ,

Male Coyote

Male Coyote

For the past week, I’ve been carrying my camera in my car. Last week, there were a couple of moose hanging out by the river every afternoon, and all I got was bad cell phone pictures of them.

Female Coyote

Female Coyote

This week, a pair of coyotes has been hunting for small rodents in one of the open areas at the northern end of the park. One afternoon, as the sun was starting to set, the male was hunting close to the road and across from a pullout. I stopped and stood by my car to take some pictures. I didn’t want to cross the road- it would have broken park rules about getting too close to wildlife, and it would have interfered with his hunting, which is especially important in the winter. DSC_0031In the winter, small rodents like mice and voles dig tunnels through the snow  rather than run around on the surface where they are very visible prey for any predator running or flying close. DSC_0032Coyotes (and other predators) can hear the critters running through the tunnels, and when they think they have the critter pinpointed, they pounce. DSC_0044In this case, the male coyote had to poke around a bit to find the vole in the hole. DSC_0047But he was successful in the end.DSC_0050Mmmm, crunchy.DSC_0056He stuck his head back in the hole, I guessing to look for more, while the female trotted over to see if he would share.DSC_0058He said no. Pretty strongly.DSC_0060

