Tags

, , ,

I’ve had The Alchemist, by Paulo Coelho, sitting on my TBR shelf for a long time. I picked it up in the little library book store in northern California that I frequented when I still lived there. I ended up borrowing it on cd from our library here twice. The first time, the first cd was damaged, so I returned it and then checked it out, fixed, about a month later.

Despite the title, the book follows the story of a young shepherd, Santiago, as he follows the prompting of a reoccurring dream to find a treasure. Along the way he meets a Gypsy, Melchizedek, the love of his life, and others, all of whom teach him something about life and following one’s dreams. He finally meets the Alchemist, who guides him in finding his treasure.

This story was beautiful. The writing was lyrical and thought-provoking, the characters were given enough development to do what they needed to do but not so much that they take away from the boy’s story. It was one of those stories that was just so lovely, simple but deep, that I just smiled when it was over. I’ll be rereading it.

