Tags

, , , ,

Baby blanket number three has actually been finished for two weeks. I had to wait until we delivered it on our vacation to see family in Tennessee. I’m soaking up free (slow) airport wifi to post this. Nevermind, I’m posting this from my Granny’s house. Our flight was delayed enough to miss the flight into home, so we’re staying another night…

DSC_0040This is one that I made up the pattern for as I crocheted. I got a picture in my head of what I wanted it to look like while I was starting blanket number 2, and I have a stack of scribbled pages with drawings, diagrams, cross-outs, and out-of-order instructions that I will eventually turn into something resembling a pattern.

I was really happy with how this turned out. I used two skeins of Lion Brand Homespun and one of Red Heart With Love. I bought the yarn in Arizona, and that was what was available in the colors I liked that was also machine washable (which is important with a baby. Of course.) I don’t remember what the silver yarn is, but it didn’t take much of that.

DSC_0036The head folds down into a hood, which I stitched to the layer beneath. It’s big for a baby, but would be great for a toddler to run around in. My mama suggested joining the sides and finishing off the head in a contrasting color, which I think I’ll do for the next one.

DSC_0034These are the fingers and claws at the end of each wing. Mr. Gecko suggested adding buttons to hold the wings together for the next one, so I may play around with that.

DSC_0033The tail took me a couple of tries to get it to look how I wanted while also connecting in several places for strength.

I plan on remaking this one so that I can get the pattern in order, since I really like how it turned out. I also need to work on a place at this house to take better photos…DSC_0043

