Tags

, , ,

Book  eleven was The Lost City of Z: A Tale of Deadly Obsession in the Amazon, by David Grann. I had been picking this book up in bookstores since it came out, and I finally picked it up at a yard sale in Arizona. Of course, then it sat on my shelf for months. So when I saw it at our local library on cd, I took it out to listen to on my drive to work. I ended up finishing it in paperback form, as my library loan expired and we were going on vacation.

The Lost City of Z traces two stories: the story of Percy Fawcett, a legendary explorer who vanished into the Amazon with his oldest son in search of the ruins of an El Dorado-type city, and the story of those who tried to find the men in the years that followed. Colonel Percy Fawcett was famous for his explorations, and stories of his exploits were reported around the world. Those who searched for his after his disappearance included other famous explorers, actors, and the author of the book. Many of those searchers vanished as well.

I didn’t really like the book at first, and I’m not sure why. By the end of it, though, I was caught up in both stories. The author did a good job of presenting both Colonel Fawcett’s good and bad sides, as well as discussing his family and how his explorations affected them. I found the discussion of the explorers, their equipment, and of how Amazonian natives were views to be interesting. I also liked the way that the book ended, which I didn’t expect.

