Tags

, , ,

Book eight is one that I borrowed from the library and read in a couple of days. I picked up Death in Yellowstone expecting a sort of “Darwin Awards” read, something morbidly funny. What I got, though, was a sobering and thought-provoking book.

Death in Yellowstone, by Lee Whittlesey, chronicles some three hundred known deaths in and close to Yellowstone National Park. I read the first edition, which only covers to 1995. There is a second edition, which has just been released. Some injuries are chronicled as well, but only here and there. There are drownings and freezings, murders and falls, stagecoach accidents, and the occasional “dip” into a hot spring. There is a fair amount of history included as well, when it is pertinent to the events being described.

This book was a fascinating, if morbid, read. The author uses numerous sources, including interviews with witnesses and family members, and is careful to distinguish between his thoughts and opinions and the facts he has been able to track down. He also tries to draw lessons from the more recent deaths, which I appreciated. I can’t say that I enjoyed this book, being that it was about tragedy, but I am glad that I read it, and I plan on picking up the second edition after a while.If I get it now, I’ll just read it right away, and my To-Read list is (still) ridiculous.

