Tags

, , , ,

I’m writing this post from a “dangerous” place…

I finally made it into the Teton County Library, and it is lovely. While the views out the windows are not as sweeping and dramatic as the views from the library where we lived before, the building and book selection make up for it. I’m sitting in front of a grated fireplace (which is not lit at the moment, as it’s 80 degrees F outside) in a chair that is supportive yet comfortable (and tall enough that my feet do not touch the ground…) using the free and fast wifi. I may never leave. But when I do, I’m going to take a book on cd or three with me. There are four long aisles of them to choose from, and I have a long commute to work.

Anyway, on to book five, which was Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon. It starts twenty years or so ahead of where Outlander ended, with Claire returning to Scotland with her grown daughter, supposedly for a sightseeing trip. While there, Claire tells the story of the daughter’s biological father and the events that led to Claire returning to the century from which she traveled back in time.

I liked this book just as much as I enjoyed the first one. The story was still fascinating, and I thought the reactions of the people involved were realistic. There was less of the medical and more of the magical in this novel, which I was a bit more ambivalent about, but I still really enjoyed it. And for those of you who are wondering, I will not be watching the TV series, as I do not have cable, or any sort of reliable internet at home. Oh well. 

