Tags

, , , , ,

DSC_0415One of the stops that we made on our trip to Yellowstone with Mr. Gecko’s parents was at Artist Paint Pots. I had done a little reading the night before on the area, and I knew it was a “short hike” to get to the mud pots. Had I done a little more reading on it, we probably would have skipped this one, given that we had already walked a ways, and had more stops we wanted to make.
DSC_0374The hike in is about a third of a mile through a fairly sparse forest with random thermal features scattered about.
DSC_0379We got out to the main thermal area, and discovered that to get up to the paint pots, you have to climb a hillside. (This little note was in one of the guidebooks that I have on the area, but I didn’t read that until the next day). From an intellectual standpoint, it is fascinating that you can see all four types of thermal features in a “short” walk, and the tour guide side of me was thrilled. From a hot, tired, thirsty, trying-to-do-too-much-in-one-day standpoint, it was a bit disappointing. Plus, there were stairs.
DSC_0389So Mr. Gecko and his mom headed back to the car, where they had a bison walk past them, while my father in law and I (the two people with bad knees, and me with my healing toe) headed on. I had never seen a mud pot, and I’m stubborn.
DSC_0440The hike up was worth it, although I would have saved it for another day if I’d known about the stairs. The view from the top was great. DSC_0418The mud pots were thick and blurping and stanky. DSC_0391DSC_0392DSC_0393This little geyser seemed to run constantly. I didn’t get a picture of the fumarole- hot day means less steam- but we could hear it as we walked up to it. DSC_0434This hot spring boiled off and on, and it was very soothing. I stood there for a few minutes and watched it. Of course, resting my knee had nothing to do with that…DSC_0445It was a great walk with my father in law, even with the stairs.DSC_0451

