Tags

, , , ,

I am far behind my goal… On the plus side, I have several months of snow coming later this year that I can catch up.

Book three was Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon. I’ve had it for a while, but I put off reading it because I felt like I needed to finish other books first. As it got closer to moving day, though, I decided I needed a fat book to get me through. This one did the trick quite nicely.

Outlander is the first in a series of books about a woman who travels back in time to 18th century Scotland. As the books begin, nurse Claire Randall is on a second honeymoon after the end of World War II. During a trip to Scotland, she falls through a gap in stones and travels 200 years into the past, landing in the middle of a battle. She winds up with clan MacKenzie and meets Jamie Fraser, a mysterious young man.

This book came highly recommended by many people, including my sister, and I can see why. The writing was solid and the story was surprisingly gripping. The switch between 1945 and the 1700’s was well done, and the medical aspects were interesting. I really enjoyed it, and fortunately there are more books in the series.

