Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s February 14th!

That means it’s …SugarSugar’s birthday!

I’m not that enthusiastic about celebrating Valentine’s Day (the crowds, the dead flowers, the history… though I do love those little conversation hearts). But when my husband and I adopted Sugar last year, we decided that her birthday would be on Valentine’s Day. We knew she had been born sometime in February, and the 14th was what came to both of our minds.

Today I decided that I would experiment with a recipe for a pupcake. I didn’t want to make an entire cake, because we are watching her weight. I’ve been entertained by the recipes for mug cakes that kept popping up in my Pinterest feed, so I played with several of those.

I had some shredded zucchini left over from making chocolate chip muffins for me, so I used that.  Make sure you squeeze the excess water out, or your cake could be soggy. I also greased and floured the bowl I cooked the cake in, because I wanted the cake to release easily. You can skip that step if you want it to be eaten straight from the mug.

Dry IngredientsIn a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients first.

Wet IngredientsAdd in the wet ingredients. Don’t have zucchini? Shredded carrots should work just as well. Don’t have pumpkin? Use banana or applesauce.

UncookedPour into the prepared mug/bowl/ramekin (or just bake it in what you mixed it in), and microwave. It took 3 minutes for mine to get done, and I stared checking it every 30 seconds after the first minute.

CookedAfter I popped it out of the bowl, I frosted it with some of the canned pumpkin just to make it look pretty. The result was fairly bland, but tasted good (yep, I tried it first). It’s also fairly healthy. If I were to make this for me, I’d add in some sugar. And maybe some chocolate.

Microwave Zucchini Pupcake

  • ¼ cup whole wheat flour
  • ¼ tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp milk
  • ½ cup shredded zucchini, excess water squeezed out.
  • 1 Tbsp canned pumpkin
  1. Grease and flour a microwave safe mug, ramekin, or bowl.
  2. Mix first four ingredients in separate bowl. Add in the next four ingredients and mix until well blended.
  3. Pour into prepared mug and bake in the microwave until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 3 minutes. Begin checking for doneness at about 1 minute 30 seconds.
  4. Frost with canned pumpkin if desired.

Zucchini Pumpkin PupcakeSugar Birthday1

Sugar was hesitant to take it at first- I think she wasn’t sure that it was for her. Once she got a “Good Girl” for trying it, it didn’t last long. She licked all the frosting off, then ate the top, then tried to fit all that was left in her mouth at once. She succeeded, but dropped it as soon as I set down the camera and reached for her. To keep her from choking, I broke the rest up into pieces. It was a hit, and it was really easy to make. She’ll also get the frog tonight.

Sugar Birthday2

