Tags

, , , ,

I finished book two last week. The Postmistress, by Sarah Blake, has been on my To Read shelf for a while. I think I bought this copy at a Friends of the Library bookstore in California. I brought it with me to read during breaks while I’ve been substitute teaching.

The Postmistress is set during World War II in Franklin, Massachusetts, London, England, and parts of Europe. It follows several characters as they come to terms with their lives and the war’s effect on their lives. Iris James, the postmistress of Franklin, believes in the order and procedure necessary for running a post office. Frankie Bard is a reporter living in London trying to get America to pay attention to what is happening overseas.

The storyline was not what I expected, given how the novel starts. Much fuss is made over the postmistress not delivering mail, but that did not happen in the manner or to the extent that I thought it would. The story is beautifully written, in a way that draws the reader in and makes them feel a part of the story. The last quarter of the story is frustrating, however. The buildup of the first ¾ of the novel just fizzles out at the end, when I wanted a big finish. That being said, I feel that the ending was more realistic for the characters and time.

