Tags

, , , ,

This book has been on my To Read list since it came out. It’s new, so I’ve been trying to hold off in favor of books that I’ve had for a while, but I gave up and started it New Year’s Day. I finished it on the second of January. As a trade-off, I purged my TBR shelves and pulled out over 50 books that I’ve decided not to read. At least not now. If I change my mind, I can borrow them from the library.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane, by Neil Gaiman, begins with a man returning to his hometown for a funeral. He goes to visit the home he grew up in, and sits down to reminisce beside his neighbor’s pond. He travels back in memory to an eventful summer where the line between reality and fairy tale gets blurred in a beautiful and horrible way.

I have yet to read a book by Neil Gaiman that I haven’t loved, and this one did not disappoint. The story was imaginative, the writing was lovely, and the scary bits kept me up reading late into the night. This novel is tied with Stardust for my favorite by this author.

I also finished The Road, a post-apocalyptic novel by Cormac McCarthy. It’s the story of a father and son traveling through the wasteland that was once civilization. There’s not much hope in the story, and the grammatical style bothered me. It was a challenging read, but I’m glad I read it. Since I started it last year, I’m not going to count it for this year.

