Tags

, , , ,

Book 31, my last, finished, new-to-me book from 2013 (even though I’m posting it in 2014) was Shattered Dreams, by Irene Spencer. This one has been on my to-read list for a while, and I picked up a copy on PaperBack Swap, an online community of book lovers who trade books.

Shattered Dreams tells the story of a woman raised in polygamy, who becomes the second wife of a man later hailed as the leader of a fundamentalist religious group based in Mexico. As a child, the author’s mother left her father because of the dual strains of poverty and polygamy. At fourteen, the author chose to leave her family and marry her half-sister’s husband in secret. The trio later moved to Mexico, where they all lived in poverty while her husband’s family tried to establish a polygamous community. The story continues until she finally leaves polygamy.

I expected to find this book fascinating. The area of the country where I live has many polygamous groups and families, and I find that lifestyle to be intriguing. This book was interesting, but not as riveting as I was hoping, which is probably why it took me so long to finish it. All of the elements that I was interested in were in the book, but the story just didn’t click for me, and I’m not sure why. It was worth the read, but I’m going to pass it on to the next person in line rather than keep it and reread it.

