Tags

, , , ,

Book 25 is one that has been on my TBR shelves for a while. I don’t remember where I heard or read about Sickened: The Memoir of a Munchausen by Proxy Childhood, but I do remember that as soon as I learned of it, I wanted to read it.

Sickened was written by Julie Gregory, whose mother was afflicted with Munchausen by Proxy, a form of maltreatment where a caregiver, usually a mother, creates physical or emotional illness in a dependent person, usually a child. The illness can be real or imaginary. In Ms. Gregory’s case, the illnesses were the result of starvation and inappropriate medication. The memoir follows Ms. Gregory from childhood into adulthood.

This memoir was a difficult read. The writing is not as smooth as it might have been if it were co-written, but I think the book is better and feels more real because of the roughness. The child abuse scenes were heartbreaking, and the doctor’s visits that were described made me want to shake the various physicians involved. I’m glad I read it, but I won’t be reading it again.

