Tags

, , , ,

I won book 24 in a Valentine’s Day giveaway by Reflections of a Book Addict. It’s Jodi Picoult’s Handle With Care. I kept putting off reading it because it is fairly new, but I finally gave in.

The novel follows the O’Keefe family as they struggle with daughter Willow’s Type III osteogenesis imperfecta, a very serious medical condition, and the stresses and financial strain that such conditions bring to a family. The family begins to fall apart after an ill-fated vacation and the decisions that follow. The narrative trades between different characters in the book and covers about two years in the family’s life.

Having read My Sister’s Keeper earlier, I was expecting this book to challenge my opinions on the subject as well as keeping me emotionally involved, and it did not disappoint. Each character’s voice and feelings are well developed, and the decisions they face are realistic and heartrending. It’s a tough read, but a good one.

