Tags

, , , ,

It’s October now, and I have one very important question: Where did August go? I’m not ready for fall. I’ve been crafting as I have time; here are some of the things I’ve been working on.

Prarie Star Baby BlanketThis is a baby blanket that I made for my new godson. It was finished a little late- he was born in May, and I mailed it in June. I found the pattern on Ravelry. The yarn I used is a little bulkier than the pattern called for, so I adjusted the pattern to keep the blanket from being too huge.

Ruffle Scarves

I keep meaning to learn how to knit. I’ve got needles in multiple sizes, I’ve got multiple books on knitting, and I’ve (obviously) got plenty of yarn. What I haven’t had is time. This summer, I had a friend teach me how to knit with the ruffle yarns that are popular. I don’t think I know enough to start a project with regular yarn, but the ruffle yarn is fun to work with.

 

 

 

Finger Crochet Cowl

I love working up scarves in soft, bulky yarn. I saw a video pinned on Pinterest (of course) for arm knitting a cowl, which led to me finger crocheting this scarf out of a wool/alpaca blend that I don’t even remember how long I’ve had. It was really fun, and if I can find a yarn that is similar, I’ll definitely do it again.

 

 

 

Grey Diamond Cowl

I made this one following a pattern I found on Moogly, and I like the way it worked up, but the yarn was new to me and it’s not as soft as I hoped it would be.

 

 

 

Red Cowl

 

This one is another Moogly pattern, worked up using Marble Chunky yarn. I found this yarn at our local thrift store for $3 a skein, and the skeins are really large. One skein made this cowl and most of the next scarf, which is just shells in a diamond pattern.

Red Scarf

 

 

 

I’m going on vacation next week, so I’ll be bringing yarn and hooks along for two very long days traveling between 4 airports. I’m also bringing my Kindle to catch up on reading.

