Tags

, , , ,

Book 23 was Ape House, by Sara Gruen. This is one that my Mama bought new, took with her to Memphis that summer, then gave it to me to read when she had finished it. I didn’t have a chance to read it while I was in Memphis, and forgot to pack it. My Granny sent it back to northern CA in the box of “Things Left Behind” that always gets sent after a visit. I packed it with me when I move to Arizona, and finally sat down and read it. I’ve read her other books, so I’m not sure why it took me so long to read this one.

Ape House is the story of a group of bonobos, the researcher who is studying and working with them, the people who want to exploit them, and the reporter who is following their story. The book begins with the explosion of the lab where the bonobos live, and follows the researcher in her search for them and the derailment of the reporter’s career.

I absolutely loved this book. The amount of research Ms. Gruen put into bonobos and the primate research industry shows throughout the novel. Most of the characters, bonobos included, were very well developed, and the writing was beautiful. I’ll be reading it again.

