Tags

, , , ,

Book twenty-two was The Jane Austen Book Club, by Karen Joy Fowler. I picked this one up at a Friends on the Library Bookstore in northern California. Before I write this one up, I have to confess that I have only read Pride and Prejudice

The Jane Austen Book Club follows six people as they meet over a six month period to read and discuss Jane Austen’s books. Each section of the book is told in a different voice, intertwining the discussions of Jane Austen’s books while developing the history and characters of the five women and one man who are a part of the club.

Even though I haven’t read most of Jane Austen’s books, I really enjoyed The Jane Austen Book Club. The witty characters and realistic life events drew me into the book, and I finished it rapidly. Parts of it made me laugh loudly, to the confusion of my husband (a confusion which was not helped by my attempt to explain). There is a part of me that wants to read all of Jane Austen’s books and then reread this one, because I am sure there are nuances and echoes of Austen that I missed. But that will have to go on my “Someday” list…

