Tags

, , , ,

I cheated. I admit it. I read World War Z on my Kindle. It’s been on my To-Read list, but not on my shelves of books to be read…

World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Max Brooks reads like a collection of interviews with survivors of the Zombie Apocalypse at some near-future date. Some of the characters are soldiers, some are ‘normal’ people, some heroes, and some villains. Each tells a piece of the story, from the beginning of the Zombie infections to the cleanup efforts after the war is over.

This book was confusing, disjointed, and disgusting. It was also a fun read for me. I liked the documentary-type feel of the writing and the variety of stories that were presented. Some of them were hard for me to read (especially the one about the K9 units), but others made me laugh. I don’t know if I’ll read it again, but I might see the movie. Of course, I’ll have to wait until it comes out on dvd, since our tiny theater plays only one movie at a time, and that one is not on the list…

