Tags

, , , ,

Book 14 was Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks. This is the first of hers that I have read, and it came highly recommended. I picked up this copy at our local library bookstore.

Year of Wonders is told from the point of view of Anna, a housemaid and mother in an isolated mountain village in 1665 England. It is based on actual events, but is a fictitious account due to the lack of details available. Anna’s story follows the coming of the Plague to the town and the villagers’ decision to quarantine their town so that the Plague does not spread to neighboring towns. Anna, the town’s new young minister, and his wife hold the town together through the quarantine, despite the numerous deaths and the citizens’ descent into despair.

The writing was beautiful and lyrical. I found myself rooting for the characters and hoping for a different outcome. Though the first chapter foreshadows certain events in the novel, I still wound up crying when those events took place. The book was not long, but I wanted to turn around and read it again as soon as I had finished. I’ll be reading the rest of her books. Once I read through more of my TBR shelves, that is.

