Tags

, , , , , ,

We don't get much snow here, and it tends to melt away quickly.

We don’t get much snow here, and it tends to melt away quickly. Those are rabbit tracks on the right hand corner.

No, mom, I'm not done playing in the snow yet!"

No, mom, I’m not done playing in the snow yet!”

Our internet connection has been uncooperative lately, so I haven’t been able to post as often as I would like. We finally had some snow this morning. Turns out Sugar is a snow dog, so much so that we had to bribe her back inside. Cricket is not a snow cat, which was entirely expected.

Cricket was interested in the snow for about 2 seconds. Then she came back in my lap.

Cricket was interested in the snow for about 2 seconds. Then she came back in my lap.

Unstuffing the Ball

I found a skein of thick macramé cord in the thrift store the other day. Since I haven’t found the rope I’d like to use, I bought the cord to play with for a toy for Sugar. She figured out right away that something was up with this cord. She even went so far as to pick up the end while I was sorting through hooks and hand the end to me. It made me laugh, so I tried again. Three times.

She slept next to me while I was working up a ball from the cord. Later that afternoon, I set the finished ball on our end table to go make dinner. I had intended to take some pictures the next day in better light before giving it to Sugar. I left her asleep on the couch and went into the kitchen.

Sugar did not want me to take it away to take a picture.

Sugar did not want me to take it away to take a picture.

A while later, I heard her collar tags jingling repetitively. That was a bit out of place, so I went in to investigate. The little thief had stood on the arm of the couch and stretched to get the ball off the end table. By the time I caught her, she had torn open the end and was unstuffing it, which is what caused the jingling. I am not sure how long it took her to get it open, but it wasn’t more than 30 minutes.

Here's the unchewed side...

Here’s the unchewed side…

The cord worked up really stiff, so the ball stays in shape even when empty. Though I don’t know how long it took her to rip it open, she ripped less of the work this time, which was nice. I may just run some of the cord through the hole to stop it from unraveling and leave the hole there.

Sugar loves the snow! That's snow on her nose.

Sugar loves the snow! That’s snow on her nose.

