Tags

, , , ,

My copy of Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger is not actually mine. My mom loaned it to me before I got married, and I ended up “accidentally” packing it (sorry, Mama. I can mail it back to you now). For quite some time, it has sat next to The Time Traveler’s Wife, which I also have not yet read, and I finally decided to read it.

Her Fearful Symmetry is the story of twin young women who are willed an apartment in London by their aunt, who is their mother’s twin. The other residents in the building are a man housebound by OCD and their late aunt’s lover, who happens to volunteer in the cemetery behind the building. The story is an odd one, full of peculiar relationships, haunting, and some unexpected twists. The characters are well developed and the writing is lovely.

It may be because I stayed up very late at night to finish the book, but the ending seemed almost rushed. I enjoyed the storyline up to a point, but the last quarter or so of the book frustrated me for a variety of reasons. I don’t want to give too much away, in case there is someone out there who hasn’t read the book.

I liked this book, but it will not be one of my favorites. I wont reread it, but I intend to read The Time Traveler’s Wife at some point. Given that I’ve read two somewhat disturbing books in a row, I’m going for a book that is a little more… fantastical. Oh, as a side note, I’ve added a page at the top of the blog where I’m keeping a list of the books I’ve read so far and what I’m currently reading. Hopefully that will help me keep better track.

